Which Nation Withdrew Its Nuclear Agreement from Jcpoa

1 minute, 22 seconds Read

On May 8, 2018, the United States announced its withdrawal from the nuclear agreement known as the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), which was signed in 2015. However, it is important to note that the United States was not the only nation to withdraw from the agreement.

In 2019, Iran also announced its withdrawal from the JCPOA, citing the failure of the other signatories to uphold their end of the agreement. The JCPOA was originally signed by Iran, the United States, the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Russia, and China, with the goal of limiting Iran`s nuclear program in exchange for relief from economic sanctions.

The withdrawal of both the United States and Iran from the JCPOA has had significant implications for the global community. The United States has since imposed strict economic sanctions on Iran, causing economic turmoil and pushing Iran to restart its nuclear program. Meanwhile, Iran`s withdrawal has been met with condemnation from the other signatories of the JCPOA.

The JCPOA was a historic agreement that aimed to reduce tensions and promote peace in the region. However, the withdrawal of both the United States and Iran has left the future of the agreement uncertain. It is important for the remaining signatories to uphold their commitments and work towards finding a resolution to this ongoing crisis.

In conclusion, while the United States is often cited as the nation that withdrew from the JCPOA, it is important to remember that Iran also withdrew from the agreement in 2019. The withdrawal of both countries has had significant implications for the global community and highlights the importance of international cooperation in resolving conflicts and advancing peace.

Similar Posts